Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Food Phobia

(18 Posts)
hildajenniJ Mon 30-Mar-15 16:24:43

I have a four year old grandson who is on the Autistic Spectrum. My daughter is very worried about his diet, he does not like his food to be mixed up, he likes to be able to see all the ingredients of his meal on his plate eg. mashed potatoes, carrots, beef burger. The burger mustn't be in a bun either. He will eat pizza as he can deconstruct it. Curry, stew, casseroles etc are out because he can't see everything they are made from. He will sometimes eat lentil soup as long as it is well blended and looks all yellow. Has anyone any idea as to how we can encourage him to eat mixed up food?

loopylou Mon 30-Mar-15 16:30:16

Just wondering if he helped cook it would that help?
I've no experience of this I'm afraid.

tanith Mon 30-Mar-15 16:35:44

If he's eating a varied diet , which it seems he is then I would try not to worry about it. Its not essential he eats 'mixed up' food is it? As long as his diet if varied and healthy.

Sorry not much use but lots of youngsters have foody fads that they eventually grow out of.

Nonnie Mon 30-Mar-15 16:39:13

I think the best thing to do is talk to whomever is monitoring his autism as you could do more harm than good by getting him to change or by not doing anything to get him to change. Don't rely on us, ask the experts.

J52 Mon 30-Mar-15 16:39:55

I wouldn't worry about mixing it up. As long as he is eating healthily.

Have you read 'House Rules' by Judy Picoult? It is about a young boy with ASD who will only eat certain coloured foods on certain days. A very good read.

X

Jane10 Mon 30-Mar-15 16:39:57