Gransnet forums

Chat

Mental Mind Set

(9 Posts)
NanKate Tue 16-Sep-14 21:33:55

I was speaking today to a lovely 92 year old from my Keep Fit Class.

As well as attending the Class each week, she also brings her cozzie along and goes swimming afterwards.

I saw her sitting on a bench this morning and asked if she was resting after a walk 'Oh no, just waiting for a lift. I help out at Riding for the Disabled, I have been doing this for 25 years'.

Another time I saw her with a small dog. 'I am just walking him for a friend' she said.

What a wonderful example to us all. Do you think it is all about having a positive mental attitude and good health of course ?

jinglbellsfrocks Tue 16-Sep-14 21:38:28

I expect it's down to a lot of things. No one can ever really "walk a mile" in someone else's shoes.

NanKate Tue 16-Sep-14 21:40:55

I just wish I had her energy Jing and I am only 67 (for another 11 days) hmm

Deedaa Tue 16-Sep-14 23:32:40

An elderly lady (sorry everyone but I was only 40 something at the time) was looking round an exhibition I was helping at. She was walking with a stick and I thought she was probably around 70. We were chatting about this and that and she complained about how difficult it had been getting around with her broken ankle, saying "I find I just don't heal so quickly now I'm 93" !!!

rubylady Tue 16-Sep-14 23:43:23

Did anyone else see the 100 year old on Gardeners's World this week? She was really inspirational, potting up her cuttings and tending to her garden. Probably the old mind's eye image of a centenarian is of sitting in a Parker Knoll with a blanket around her knees, sipping soup. That is not the case these days as many are still active and involved in many hobbies and good on 'em. smile

NanKate Wed 17-Sep-14 07:29:22

I will try and see if I can find Gardeners' World on the telly to see the 100 year old Ruby

It seems to me these older people keep an interest in life and doing things.

suebailey1 Wed 17-Sep-14 09:06:31