Gransnet forums

Gardening

Garlic

(18 Posts)
blacksmith Mon 20-Oct-14 17:03:45

Can anyone tell me when the best time to plant Garlic is please ?

Allotmenteer Mon 20-Oct-14 17:12:47

Hi, I planted mine last week, hoping that we won't have a frost for a while. grin

whenim64 Mon 20-Oct-14 17:14:29

I've planted mine this last weekend.

merlotgran Mon 20-Oct-14 17:21:47

Depends on the variety. Both hardneck and softneck types can be planted in autumn or spring and the planting times should be stated on the bag. I have just planted Elephant garlic and Early Purple Wight.

Last year I planted Solent Wight in the spring (as recommended) but they didn't make a good size so will try a different variety next year.

blacksmith Mon 20-Oct-14 17:33:38

Thanks all for reply. My first question. I will planting mine tomorrow. I've got lots more gardening questions as I am very new to gardening ut really enjoy.

pompa Mon 20-Oct-14 17:34:02

Now is good, I believe it needs a period of cold to grow properly.

Anya Mon 20-Oct-14 22:30:02

Yes, planted a soft-necked, hard-necked and elephant garlic last week.
Merlot this year has been a poor year for garlic, so it may not just be the species you planted. We usually harvest enough to last us till the next crop is ready. This year I've had to buy shop garlic alread and it's only October.

merlotgran Mon 20-Oct-14 22:35:45

I've just bought some shop garlic as well, Anya.

Yes, it was a poor year thanks to rust. Never mind....There's always next year.

Anya Mon 20-Oct-14 22:51:19

Good year for pumpkins though. I can't lift mine they're so heavy hmm

jamsidedown Mon 20-Oct-14 23:19:16

Have been looking in the garden centres but haven't managed to find any garlic yet - just the start of -sigh- grottos. Not sure why some of these places call themselves "garden" centres when so little is dedicated to actual gardening. Should be knick knack centres smile

pompa Tue 21-Oct-14 06:57:10