Gransnet forums

Health

Polymyalgia

(39 Posts)
NanKate Wed 27-Apr-16 07:32:15

Saw the doc yesterday and she suspects I have PMG and I am going to have a blood test to confirm it. I have found a few old threads on the topic but feel a fresh start to the topic would be useful.

I am determined not to get too down about the future and this illness, it could be worse. Well I may have a few wobbles sad

Any advice tips or help from you Gransnetters would be gratefully received.

kittylester Wed 27-Apr-16 08:22:13

Sorry to hear this NanKate. I have no knowledge or experience but I'm sure someone who has will be along soon.

Have a very gentle ((hug)))

Megram Wed 27-Apr-16 08:54:52

Sorry to hear this NanKate. A close friend of mine has Polymyalgia Rheumatica and I know she has gained a lot of useful information and support from a Face Book group. Even if you aren't on Face Book, maybe try doing a search and see what comes up. Good Luck and a few wobbles are allowed! wink

Indinana Wed 27-Apr-16 08:58:31

I am just coming out of this condition. It's odd, and the medics don't know why, but it often lasts only 2 years or so with steroid treatment.
Once you're on the steroids there will be an almost magical transformation - all your aches and pains will disappear very quickly. I was pain free within 48 hours. But you have to remember that steroids subdue all pain, not just that caused by the PMR, so when you eventually come off the steroids, or when you have reduced the dose dramatically. the normal arthritic pains will return.
You will also have to take calcium and vitamin D tablets daily because steroids increase your risk of osteoporosis. Ask for a bone density test to see the condition of your bones now. I had one at the beginning and another a few months ago and my BD has been fine throughout.