Gransnet forums

News & politics

Gullible or stupid

(16 Posts)
vampirequeen Wed 20-May-15 08:45:01

www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3085724/I-groomed-way-child-abuse-victims-Woman-loses-life-savings-350-000-falling-love-British-man-dating-site-sending-money-discover-Nigerian-fraudster.html

Why does a perfectly sensible woman throw common sense out of the window in this way? When you sign up for these sites you are warned about scammers. I started talking to a lovely American engineer who was working in Nigeria. We chatted for a couple weeks and, of course, by that time he knew I was a primary teacher. One day he contacted me in a panic. Instead of using one of the company drivers he'd driven himself and knocked down a seven year old girl on the way to school. I sympathised. Later he told me that the girl needed surgery immediately or she would lose her leg and that this surgery needed paying. I sympathised again. Then he asked me for a loan. I suggested he claim off his insurance ask his employers for a sub. He told me the insurance didn't cover him and his employers wouldn't sub him. I then suggested he borrow off family but he said he was an orphan. By this time I was well aware he was trying to scam me. Well tbh I'd spotted the warning signs long before he asked for money. So I decided to string him along to see how far he'd go and I figured that whilst he was concentrating on me some other more gullible woman might be escaping his clutches.