Gransnet forums

Chat

Bitchin' or Banter?

(153 Posts)
ramona Wed 07-Oct-15 17:06:53

I have "lurked" on Gransnet for a while and I am astonished at the amount of bitching going on here mainly amongst the usual crew of regular posters. Or is is just banter? I realise that political threads can get heated but even the lighter subjects often become littered with rude and sometimes very nasty comments. Or am I just too sensitive? Maybe this the norm on forums, even those for the more mature. I am new to this so don't know.

jinglbellsfrocks Wed 07-Oct-15 17:11:15

I'm so tempted to say, "there's a website called Grannynet ...", but I won't.

You just need to decide for yourself. [shrug]

jinglbellsfrocks Wed 07-Oct-15 17:12:16

But, of course you are very welcome on here, and I hope you post very soon, and often. Sickly smile

jinglbellsfrocks Wed 07-Oct-15 17:13:28

What a lovely OP to start a thread with. hmm

granjura Wed 07-Oct-15 17:15:44

ramona-it is a huge shame isn't it? I agree.

merlotgran Wed 07-Oct-15 17:17:51

I think ramona is far from sensitive starting a thread like this. hmm

jinglbellsfrocks Wed 07-Oct-15 17:18:56

I will leave you to bitch to your heart's content.

roastchicken

jinglbellsfrocks Wed 07-Oct-15 17:19:28

that was to the OP and gj.

Nonnie Wed 07-Oct-15 17:27:21

I think I said something similar just after I joined and was shot down in flames and told it was simply 'robust'. ramona lots will agree with you but it won't change a thing. You do get used to it though and learn which posters to ignore and which posts to avoid.

Come in and give it a go, you don't have to stay if you don't like it.

Anne58 Wed 07-Oct-15 17:32:45

I have been here since (metaphorically) GN was in black and white, so ramona I suppose I must count among the "crew of regular posters"