Gransnet forums

Pedants' corner

When is a poem a poem?

(44 Posts)
NfkDumpling Wed 28-Jan-15 18:34:33

On Womens Hour this morning a poet was interviewed and read one of her 'poems'. It didn't rythm, scan or flow at all. This was followed by an interview and the interviewee gave a wonderful description which sounded every bit as good as the 'poem'.
Is it now the case that poetry like art is everywhere? Like Tracy Emmens bed? If so - I'm a poet and an artist!

Greenfinch Wed 28-Jan-15 18:43:00

I used to tell my students that poetry was painting a picture with words so anything above the mundane is acceptable in my opinion.

Anne58 Wed 28-Jan-15 18:44:48

I heard that poem, I thought it was good.

Ariadne Wed 28-Jan-15 20:02:10

"what oft was said, but ne'er so well expressed" is one idea about poetry.

But I like the concept of defamiliarization - presenting the everyday and the commonplace in such a way that we can see it anew. "To make the stone stoney."

rosequartz Wed 28-Jan-15 20:39:23

If it doesn't rhyme, scan or flow then it is beautiful prose.

To pretend it is a poem is like proclaiming the Emperor's new Clothes.

Ana Wed 28-Jan-15 20:58:24

If it doesn't rhyme, scan or flow then it's just prose. Not necessarily beautiful prose.

What's the definition of a poem anyway?

annodomini Wed 28-Jan-15 21:06:41

I'll go with your idea of 'defamiliarisation', Ariadne. A quotation that rings true with me is:

'Genuine poetry can communicate before it is understood.'

T. S. Eliot

NfkDumpling Thu 29-Jan-15 07:03:17

It was good Phoenix - but surely not a poem? My pedant mother would have called it prose, but that no longer seems to exist.

rosequartz Thu 29-Jan-15 11:31:29

Ana quite right! Nor is poetry always beautiful. smile

NotTooOld Thu 29-Jan-15 12:10:40

There was a poetry module on an OU course I did two years ago. We were taught that one way of writing a poem was to write a piece of prose and then break it up into lines, so for example: