Gransnet forums

Relationships

Dating Websites

(48 Posts)
Jennywren1 Wed 16-Dec-15 00:02:43

I've been separated from my husband for 15 months now & feel the time is right to move forward. I would love to meet someone new but that is very unlikely to happen in my day to day life. I've been thinking of joining a Dating Website, but have reservations about doing so. Has anyone had any experience with them? Can anyone recommend a site?

Envious Wed 16-Dec-15 00:21:41

I have no experience but I do have some insight from a single friend. She has had many luncheon dates where she meets men in a public place she picks. Even at our age most of these men seem to expect her to take them to her home! shock She does her best to get to know them on line and on the phone. Also just because someone has a profile picture doesn't mean they are who they say. They could be a " fake" person from another country or up to no good. Too many strange people in this world. She's even had men say they aren't married and are. She's good at catching these men in lies. I'm in the US so I'm not aware of a dating site where you are. Just please be careful! I'm surprised she is still trying. Oh! Once she had a man send her a message saying good morning! And it was 10:30 at night! confused There is no way to know for sure if they even live where they say!

Iam64 Wed 16-Dec-15 07:49:42

A couple of people I know use the Guardian Sole Mates pages as a means of finding potential partners.
If I was single and in the unlikely event I decided I'd like to meet someone, I'd join the ramblers, take up painting, creative writing or some other activity where there'd be a remote chance I'd meet someone with whom I shared common interests. I'm very wary of dating sites, though two close friends did meet through the GSM 20 years ago and are one of the happiest couples I know.

Iam64 Wed 16-Dec-15 07:50:21

- I meant soul mates of course, not shoe mates tchblush

feetlebaum Wed 16-Dec-15 08:18:25