Gransnet forums

Work/volunteering

Hands up all those who never really enjoyed working!

(58 Posts)
oldgoose Fri 30-Sep-16 18:38:57

I have only ever had one job that I really enjoyed and that was my very first one. I looked forward to every day. Sadly the company were folding and so I had to find another job after 7 years, and that was it really I have never found another one I liked as much.
I've worked more or less my whole life, except for when I had my children and so that I could be home for them, I worked as a market research interviewer which in those days was lucrative and you could fit around family commitments.
I do feel that the world of work got worse over the years. Targets, KPI's, one to ones, pressure, stress and I really hated all that. I know I'm old fashioned but I couldn't wait to retire.
Every time I settled somewhere a new boss would come in, change everything and not always for the better. It got me down.
Now I am at home , happily retired, taking up DIY and learning from my own mistakes and setting my own tasks. No one to please but me. I meet friends, do a lot of sewing, and collect my Grandchildren from school.
I've always been a home-bird and at last I can please myself.

suzied Fri 30-Sep-16 19:21:43

I loved my last job, lovely colleagues, OK management, great working conditions, but I wasn't heartbroken at leaving as I was ready. My previous jobs were totally hard work, but I've met and maintained, some good friends, so not all bad. I do love being at home and having the freedom
to organise my own time, but I wouldn't have missed my working life. It's good to have had a mix.

Luckygirl Fri 30-Sep-16 19:42:28

I loved my job as a medical social worker - I really felt that I was making a difference and doing something worthwhile.