Gransnet forums

AIBU

Hypocritical oath

(12 Posts)
JessM Wed 20-Jul-11 18:09:10

I was working with a group of doctors once. They said "We think we are God. But the neurosurgeon's KNOW they are God."

crimson Wed 20-Jul-11 17:21:46

Brings to mind the old joke [if that's the correct term; perhaps not..is adage better?] 'Q; what's the difference between God and a doctor A; God doesn't think he's a doctor.

helshea Wed 20-Jul-11 16:53:17

Thank god for progress, but on the otherhand I am definitely of the mind that I would not be able to harm a foetus over a few weeks. I would never criticise anyone else for performing or having an abortion, but I know I could not actually perform one. Fortunately I am not a doctor and am not in that position.

JessM Wed 20-Jul-11 16:46:57

Too right. We are old enough, most of us, to remember them becoming legal

absentgrana Wed 20-Jul-11 16:37:32

The Royal College of Gynaecologists and Obstetricians is very concerned about a growing number of doctors – and, clearly, future doctors – objecting to abortions. Now whatever we grans think about abortion – and I am sure there are diverse opinions across a substantial range of concerns – I don't believe any of us would want a return to the days of dangerous and illegal douches and knitting needles.

JessM Wed 20-Jul-11 16:05:59

Is it a co-incidence that a very high proportion have come from private schools. I saw some info on this and now can't find it. The private school system is a very good at churning out 3 science A grade A levels. And then there is the prejudice on the part of admissions officers...
I dont think having a very elite upbringing and education is particularly good preparation for being a doctor. They will be spending a lot more time with the poorer segment of the community because they have more illness.

This report talks about the socio-econmic imbalance, but skirts around the private/state education question. (I think - i have not read it all...)