Gransnet forums

AIBU

Just learning!

(27 Posts)
tubbygran Mon 30-Jan-12 15:31:35

I love reading the forum messages, but I'm new to it and don't know what the abbreviations mean. Help please!

absentgrana Mon 30-Jan-12 15:36:34

tubbygran Lots of us had that problem when we first joined gransnet and quite a few of us don't use them any way. They are fairly obvious when you get to grips with the first few:
DH dear husband
DS dear son
DD dear daughter
DGC dear grandchild
DGS/DGG dear grandson/daughter
SIL son-in-law or sister-in-law depending on context
DIL daughter-in-law
MIL mother-in-law
and so on.
Some gransnetters refer to their husbands/partners as OG – old geezer.

Welcome to gransnet. I hope you enjoy being with us.

Notsogrand Mon 30-Jan-12 15:37:55

Hello tubbygran. Most of the abbreviations refer to relatives so:
DD is Dear or Darling Daughter
DS for Son, DGC for Grandchildren and so on.
DH is Darling Husband, but some posters prefer OG - Old Geezer!!

Nice to meet you. smile

Notsogrand Mon 30-Jan-12 15:38:30

We need traffic lights absent!

tubbygran Mon 30-Jan-12 17:17:58

Thank you. Everything is clear now and I'm sure that I'll enjoy the Forums even more. What a lovely friendly lot you are!

Ariadne Mon 30-Jan-12 18:24:08

Hello tubbygran Nice to meet you! smile

Annobel Mon 30-Jan-12 18:38:11

Good to have you on board, tubbygran. Glad you've spotted that we're friendly - occasionally slightly nutty, but invariably supportive. You'll love it.

harrigran Mon 30-Jan-12 19:01:39

Hello tubbygran you will enjoy being here smile

jeni Mon 30-Jan-12 19:08:08

What do you mean occasionally. Well come tubbygran.

gracesmum Mon 30-Jan-12 19:36:44

gringringrin Slightly nutty- who us?

bagitha Mon 30-Jan-12 19:43:07

Welcome to GN (gransnet), tubbygran. smile

Carol Mon 30-Jan-12 20:22:15