Gransnet forums

AIBU

zombie walk

(14 Posts)
grannyactivist Thu 01-Nov-12 00:35:31

My grandson was in the city with his mum and dad at the weekend when they got surrounded by people taking part in a 'zombie walk'. Grandson is only two years old and was so TERRIFIED he couldn't stop screaming, and even daughter admitted to finding some of the costumes and make-up realistically scary. Grandson is now really, really worried about 'monsters' - and there's no point telling him there are no monsters because he's seen them for himself. AIBU to be angry that this walk took place in the middle of the afternoon with no prior warning for unsuspecting parents out shopping with young children?

Anne58 Thu 01-Nov-12 00:41:32

Tough one, really. I can fully understand your DGS being upset, but I'm not sure how any effective pre warning might have been done. Ok, they could put it in the local paper, but not everyone reads it.

Personally I'm not good with things like this, even though deep down I know it's only people dressed up. This is someone who got off the haunted/ghost ride thing at Disneyland Paris before it had even got going!

kittylester Thu 01-Nov-12 05:49:29

Brave getting on in the first place phoenix

What a shame ga. Difficult to legislate for because, surely, the point is that it's a surprise. The participants should, though, have been aware that it could be scary for little ones and kept out of their way as much as possible. Hope he feels better soon.

baubles Thu 01-Nov-12 06:43:58

Poor wee thing, not what anyone would have been expecting in the middle of the afternoon. Could his Mum try turning it into a dressing up game for them both to show him that it is only playing?

Greatnan Thu 01-Nov-12 08:09:52

I was watching Deal or No Deal before my TV packed up (yes, I know, sad isn't it?) and the contestants were wrapped in bandages and covered in grey powder. I found it quite unnerving and in very poor taste.