Gransnet forums

AIBU

?Bikinis in the supermarket

(63 Posts)
dorsetpennt Thu 18-Jul-13 09:33:27

I work as an Internet shopper for one of our better supermarkets. I live in a coastal town with 'seven miles of golden sand', so with this hot weather the town is very busy. Our branch isn't on a coastline or opposite the beach, in fact we are in one of the suburbs. However, people, mainly holidaymakers, think it is quite suitable to shop in their bikinis, or men with their t-shirts off [not always a pleasant sight], even bare feet.
Yesterday a group of people came into the shop dressed like this, 2 girls in bare feet [ugh, our streets are clean but not sterile]. Our store manager approached them and asked in an extremely polite and reasonable manner to please cover up - we are food shop after all and other customers do not like it. Oh the fuss and the language - they stomped out shouting about how unreasonable we were etc, etc.
Was our manager being unreasonable? Do you wish to shop [or like me sit next to on a bus home] with nearly naked people - those bikinis were small!!

gracesmum Thu 18-Jul-13 09:44:12

Enough to put anybody off their shopping!! Plus, unless bodies are toned, tanned and enviable - not a pretty sight. Hope nobody has the idea of mankinis a la Borat either shock Ugh emoticon

Lilygran Thu 18-Jul-13 09:58:01

Years ago, in Hawaii, we were very entertained by the notices in shops and restaurants 'No shoes, no shirt, no service!'.

sunseeker Thu 18-Jul-13 10:03:56

The people most likely to strip off seem to be the ones who should stay covered up! Men with big beer bellies hanging over their waist bands, with lobster coloured bodies and white hairy legs. Women wearing crop tops with flabby muffin tops - don't these people look in a mirror before they leave home!

sunseeker Thu 18-Jul-13 10:04:21