Gransnet forums

AIBU

Low Boredom Threshold- too much energy

(52 Posts)
trueblue22 Sat 27-Jun-15 20:36:03

I'm 63 and been married to a lovely DH (67) for 33 years.

DH retired about 7 years ago and is happy to potter in the garden, watch sport, walk the dog and has a high boredom threshold.

I'm born industrious. I can't sit still for long and need to have a project on the go. Since retiring, I've been a volunteer editor for a local magazine, a health walk leader, an EBay lister for a charity and recently stood down as Association chairman of a political party, as well as standing as a local authority councillor candidate- although not in a winnable ward. I'm still a primary school governor, but that's the only commitment.

Now I'm at a loose end. It's nice to have a bit of time for DH- who has felt neglected -my baby grandson and bridge, but I feel I'm not ready for the interminable cruises, holidays, lunchtime gossiping with girlfriends, coach trips, U3A (usually for the over 70s) and the like. I'm young at heart and have bags of energy.

I'm filling in time going to boot sales & charity shops buying items and selling on EBay, but need to find something to do after the summer.

Any of you out there with a similar low boredom threshold? Any ideas?

merlotgran Sat 27-Jun-15 20:47:52

You've worn me out just reading about all your activities, trueblue

Can't offer any ideas I'm afraid because although I have plenty going on in my life I'm so laid back that next to you I'd be falling over. smile

Ana Sat 27-Jun-15 20:56:45

'Interminable cruises and holidays...'? I should be so lucky! grin

ninathenana Sat 27-Jun-15 20:57:51

PHEW ! grin

trueblue22 Sat 27-Jun-15 21:00:39

I'm not going on them...no inclination or money for that grin

Grannyknot Sat 27-Jun-15 21:00:50

Me <raises hand> I don't have any ideas though because I'm not at the same stage of leisure as you yet.

Charleygirl Sat 27-Jun-15 21:49:10

Reading the post exhausted me.