Gransnet forums

AIBU

When does helping someone become interference

(67 Posts)
Nellie17 Fri 08-Jun-18 10:26:32

I have been visiting my 94 year old aunt since she was widowed 4 years ago. I didn't visit much before then as her husband was not a pleasant man. My aunt and I have lovely chats over tea and she often asks my advice about money and health matters. I check things out for her and give her the best advice I can. My aunt has a daughter who is single, no children and retired and she lives a couple of hours drive away. There is no other family. Last week when I visited my aunt her daughter (my cousin) was there. We all chatted happily for an hour or so and as I got ready to leave I said I was now going to visit my brother. I was shocked when my cousin said to me: you are going to tell him how to run his life now, are you? I truly thought I was helping and I had no idea that my cousin thought I was interfering. I am deeply hurt and now do not know whether to ignore it all or avoid visiting when my cousin is there or tackle her about it. Fortunately my aunt did not hear the comment but she has often said that my cousin will not help her with things like her paperwork and benefits. AIBU to expect my cousin to at least be polite? I don't want any thanks. I enjoy my aunt's company.

Ilovecheese Fri 08-Jun-18 10:33:37

I think I would avoid visiting when your cousin is there. You think you are helping, she thinks you are interfering. If you tackle her about it, she is not going to change her mind, and you might be putting your Aunt in a difficult position, as she may feel she has to take sides.

I'm not surprised you were a bit hurt, but I would let it go.

Nanabilly Fri 08-Jun-18 10:45:25