Gransnet forums

AIBU

Chemicals!

(26 Posts)
Quizzer Sun 02-May-21 10:45:42

As a scientist I really object to the derogatory term ‘Chemicals’ used in advertisements and the press to frighten the reader.
Oh dear! We mustn’t put chemicals on our skin, in our food or have them in our homes. Really?
Our whole bodies are made up of different chemicals, in fact everything in the whole universe is a chemical. Water is a chemical, as is air - well strictly that’s a mixture of chemicals.
Let’s insist that the media get this right and use “harmful” or “potentially harmful” chemicals instead of the incorrect description.

GrannyGravy13 Sun 02-May-21 10:47:21

Agree

poshpaws Sun 02-May-21 10:48:51

Sounds very sensible and indeed useful, to me.

Callistemon Sun 02-May-21 10:59:41

We wouldn't eat anything!

KS2 chemical reactions in cooking:
www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/clips/zjrs34j

NotSpaghetti Sun 02-May-21 11:14:33

You're right of course.
But this is another area where nothing is likely to happen.

We need to educate people.
Fat chance!

Mrst1405 Sat 15-May-21 13:33:34

Really annoys me that things like vinegar, washing soda etc are considered 'natural ' but chemicals are somehow bad!!

GillT57 Sat 15-May-21 13:41:30

I agree, and the assumption that 'additives' are always something to be avoided. I get irritated by the infantilization of language, the use of the word 'jabs' instead of injections for example.

Callistemon Sat 15-May-21 13:47:06

the use of the word 'jabs' instead of injections for example.
It's so much easier to type, though!

GillT57 Sat 15-May-21 14:05:07

I agree that is it easier to write, but do reporters always have to say it? And politicians?

varian Sat 15-May-21 14:43:11

I'm guessing that only a small minority of those who work in the media have a scientific education.

M0nica Sat 15-May-21 15:43:02

Like so many words 'chemicals' has a precise meaning and a popular meaning.

I am not sure there is much you can do about it.