Gransnet forums

Arts & crafts

Knitting little Bobble hats for fun and to help AgeUK

(15 Posts)
shysal Tue 04-Oct-11 11:19:29

Just a reminder that the Innocent hats have to be sent by Oct 14th. My granddaughter and I have done about 30. I have to confess the novelty wore off after a while.
I decided to buy a single bottle of smoothie to test for size, and was shocked to find that in my local Co-op it cost me £1.99 , whereas in Asda 1 litre sells for £3. I bet they still make a hefty profit after donating 25p each to Age UK.

greenmossgiel Fri 26-Aug-11 17:15:55

nipsmum - I love knitting the hats etc! My neighbour and one of my other friends also knit them, and similarly, a really lovely letter is received quite quickly! I get a lot of my wools from charity shops so that means that two lots of people are being helped and my hands are kept supple! smile

nipsmum Fri 26-Aug-11 11:12:58

hi Greenmossgeil
I've been knitting hats for seamen for the past 8 years. My sister and a friend also knit them. They are always gratefully recieved by the Pastor in Aberdeen and I usually get a nice thank you letter too. Like you, when I see ships sitting in the bay waiting to get into the docks I wonder if any of the sailors are wearing one of my wooly hats.

Maniac Wed 24-Aug-11 09:15:34

I downloaded instructions for these diddy hats, have so far produced 10 of them.I'm using all my wool leftovers and have become quite creative.Such fun!
BUT
I reckon that the cost of posting to nearest collection point may be almost as much as the 25p per hat that the promoters 'Innocence' have promised to donate to the Ageuk Winter warmth fund

shysal Wed 24-Aug-11 08:32:45