Gransnet forums

Arts & crafts

Most unusual craft?

(59 Posts)
bella2 Mon 11-Dec-17 17:40:31

I was just wondering what is the most unusual craft that anyone does or has seen? Over the years I have tried several different crafts, with different mediums, but I always go back to crochet and have always done it alongside other crafts. But I like to try new ones, even if only once, cost permitting of course!

goldengirl Fri 31-Aug-18 11:30:41

When DH and I were first married we stuck googly eyes on pebbles and made 'licorice allsorts' out of wood and threaded them onto cord for necklaces as gifts which turned out to be quite popular. I enjoyed rug making and dabbling with paint but I'm no artist. I currently knit items that don't take too long! A visit to Hobbycraft is a real treat - it's good that we don't have one nearby though grin

JuneS Fri 31-Aug-18 08:34:05

Over the years I have done so many different crafts. In the past I have done basket making, dough modelling, upholstery, jewellery making and making porcelain dolls, just to mention some. More recently I have made dream makers, felt toys, fabric dolls and now painting.
What do I do with my completed work!! Each of my granddaughters has a porcelain doll to remember me by. My gr-granddaughters have fabric dolls which I love to make. Surprisingly I have very little myself. When someone really likes something that I have made I make a pressie of it, intending to make myself another one. I never do as I am on to something else.
The only things that I ever sold were cane items which were made to order. Arthritis in my hands restricts me now but I still make for my own pleasure.

Mabel2 Thu 30-Aug-18 20:16:32

I do pyrography, mainly on boxes which I hope to sell to fund my hobby. I didn't realise how much I'd enjoy it but I love working with the wood and I want to learn to make my own boxes and also to do wood carving

woodlark Fri 13-Jul-18 17:47:31