Gransnet forums

Arts & crafts

Lockdown knitting...

(67 Posts)
Witzend Thu 16-Apr-20 12:22:53

...is a great excuse for putting off housework, but maybe that’s just me. (Slob emoji wanted!).

I’ve finished my 2 Jean Greenhowe C********s stockings. The decorative bits were a bit of a fiddle, so not sure I’ll make any more, but you never know.

Someone (I think Whitewavemk2?) mentioned making a C-word wreath, so many thanks for that idea WWM2. I’ve found a wreath pattern (I nearly said recipe!) on the LoveCrafts website, but I don’t care for those decorative bits, so I’m thinking of making it a Jolly Snowman one, with some of JG’s mini snowmen added.

Wreath itself is proving quite easy, just 4 repeated rows. If my prototype turns out well I might make a few - looking well ahead to Gdcs’ school C-word fairs in late November, assuming that a) they might like such donations, and b) that they’ll be back at school by then!

Newatthis Tue 21-Apr-20 13:17:12

I'm a beginner although I can knit basic stitiches and have two balls of double knitting and an assortment of needles (which were very kindly given to me). I'd like to make something for my new grandchild who is due in June and for her 3 year old sister. Any suggestions or can anyone pm me with a pattern which is very easy. Many thanks.

Witzend Tue 21-Apr-20 18:55:40

Would your granddaughter perhaps like some doll’s clothes? If so I could point you at some very simple patterns.

I’ve also made dolls’ blankets for my Gdd when she was about the same age. From memory about 50 stitches using two strands of double knitting together on fat needles, maybe 5 or 6 mm.
I would knit 4 rows of garter stitch first (every row knit), followed by stocking stitch (knit one row, purl one row), but keeping the first and last 4 stitches of each row just garter stitch, and the very last 4 rows garter stitch too, to make a nice border.