Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Grandson not talking at almost 3

(11 Posts)
Hannahsgran Sat 10-Mar-12 22:46:50

This is my first post so hope I am doing it correctly. Son and DIL had our lovely grandson by IVF nearly three years ago. S in a stay at home dad whilst DIL is the wage earner. GS can use a DS lite, delete Sky+, type his name on a laptop and they think that is quite clever. However, he is still in nappies all the time. He cannot use a spoon and fork, but the main problem is that he doesn't speak. Not a word. They are waiting to see a speech therapist, but it is quite a long waiting list. My question is, how can I stress to them that they should get their priorities right, DIL is very highly strung and flies off the handle very easily.

shysal Sun 11-Mar-12 08:19:07

I am no expert, but feel that he will one day just start talking, probably in sentences. Obviously the speech therapist will know best.It sounds like home life is not very relaxed, so anxiety may be the cause.
There is a recent similar thread in the "ask a gran" category entitled "19 months and not talking" which you may find useful.
Hope he is soon chattering. flowers

Humbertbear Fri 16-Mar-12 11:27:55

My cousin didn't speak till he was three but then whoosh, out it all came. We all worry about developmental milestones. My grandson didnt sit up till 11 months and walked at 22 months but at 3 1/2 he has taught himself to read.
What I am trying to say is that they all do things at different times. However it does sound as if his parents laid back attitude might be contributing to this. I personally have no patience with the latest fad for what I think of as late toilet training.

dorsetpennt Fri 16-Mar-12 14:20:57