Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Teenager with X-box addiction - advice please

(12 Posts)
Grannyknot Sat 29-Dec-12 16:51:01

I have no experience of 'computer game' addictions - but have been asked for advice by someone whose teenage son (14 years old) has an addiction to violent X-Box games (according to her). Banning him from playing has resulted in a massive blow up and she doesn't know what to do. Any thoughts?

petallus Sat 29-Dec-12 17:03:20

My GS aged 14 is addicted to his gadgets, X-box and Blackberry. His mother is constantly battling with him over the issue. I think it's a not uncommon situation.

annodomini Sat 29-Dec-12 17:06:15

It might be wise for the parents (is there a father in the family?) to have a word with his form teacher at school or perhaps there is a pastoral tutor they could speak to. This addiction is not uncommon at that age.

Mishap Sat 29-Dec-12 17:06:25

My 4 year old GS loves the computer - he wants to look things up about trains/dinosaurs/planes - all the things that little boys love. It is a job to deflect him from it, so I can imagine how difficult it might be with a teenager.

numberplease Sat 29-Dec-12 17:41:22

And not just teenagers! My husband is completely addicted to his PS3, and the violent games that he plays on there, spends hours up there every day. His daily routine consists of, get up, go in back bedroom (games room), light gas wall heater AND halogen heater (he doesn`t like being cold), come downstairs, have a drink, back up onto the game. Comes down about 3pm, eats his warmed up lunch, back upstairs, down around 11pm, eats warmed up tea, then channel hops on the telly till he goes to bed. And he will only play the really violent games. He only took it up at the age of 57, he`s now 68, but he certainly makes up for lost time!

annodomini Sat 29-Dec-12 17:44:05