Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

How to tackle mildew?!!!

(31 Posts)
Grummy Sun 08-Dec-13 13:56:09

My flat was wallpapered and painted very nicely when I moved in. Hmmm, to disguise the damp problem I think. I have put moisture absorbers on all window sills and am using Dettol mould & mildew remover when black spots appear all over the place (this is hard work!) but it is on the wallpaper (how the wallpaper is actually remaining on the walls is a miracle) and I'm not sure if there's something else I could be using. The condensation is so bad it runs down the glass inside even though I have double glazing. I am quite new to mildew so all your suggestions gladly welcomed.

tattynan Thu 26-Dec-13 17:18:54

Check your lease to see what your landlord says about repairs. All the leases I've seen have outlined landlords responsibility to maintain property.

petra Mon 23-Dec-13 10:55:16

I have to say that our council here, Southend is really coming down hard on these Landlords. One recently was fined £20,000. Not that it hurt him, but at least it showed that they are doing something.

Grummy Fri 20-Dec-13 15:44:13

Thanks JessM and FlicketyB, good advice, I will follow that up.

FlicketyB Fri 13-Dec-13 17:52:24

Why not speak to the local council. If it as damp as you describe it could breach standards that housing should reach to be officially habitable. The Council can make it mandatory that the landlord fixes the problem or else have the flats declared unfit for human habitation. The EPC is also mandatory and if he did not have one done and give you a copy he is in breach of the law. Again speak to your local Council.

JessM Fri 13-Dec-13 07:32:09