Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Should I move into a retirement property to be closer to DS and DiL

(33 Posts)
NanaElla Thu 15-Nov-18 14:43:47

Hi All, I'm new to Gransnet! I've been reading for a while but I've finally plucked up the courage to join the community. I don't know if I posted this in the wrong forum before so hopefully someone can help? I am 76 and am on my own. My DiL has been suggesting I move closer to them for a while and has recently sent me the link to these retirement properties. I think they are beautiful and have a good offer on at the minute www.inspiredvillages.co.uk/black-friday should I go for it? It would be nice to make some new friends too and maybe a retirement village would help me? Thanks in anticipation.

Bellanonna Thu 15-Nov-18 14:59:46

Hello nana Ella. If this is not just a plug for those retirement properties (can’t help the cynic in me) then moving near your DiL, especially as she has asked you to, sounds like a lovely idea. You say the apartments appeal to you, so I’m sure you will be able to make up your own mind about moving. What will you be leaving behind? Do you like the area where she lives? Do get back to us and tell us more, and of course welcome to Gransnet.

NanaElla Thu 15-Nov-18 15:06:57

Thanks Bellanonna for getting back to me so quickly. I really appreciate the help and a chance to talk it through as I don’t have too many friends in my local area anymore. My DiL lives in Stratford Upon Avon so I am looking at Great Alne Park which is in Warwickshire. I like the facilities there and it seems quite sociable. I like the area where my DiL lives too, we can go to the theatre together, but I don’t want to feel like I’m imposing on her and my DS. And although it sounds silly as I don’t have too many friends in my hometown Bath, I have lived in my house all my life, and I know the area, shops etc well, so it would be a big decision to leave.

Izabella Thu 15-Nov-18 15:12:28