Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Old wedding photos

(36 Posts)
Savannasnan Sat 13-Apr-19 17:59:04

Hi all this is my first post. My Daughter's first marriage didn't work out sadly. As an amateur photographer I took loads of photos of the wedding. My daughter is now with a new partner and they have a daughter. Our much loved granddaughter. My daughter destroyed all her old wedding photos. Understandably as he cheated on her. But I still have my photos in an album. I have chucked any photos of my ex SIL but kept photos of my daughter and her Dad. My MIL has sinced passed away but is in a group photo. My dilemma is should my granddaughter find album would she be confused that her Mum is with another man or should I just bin it? My daughter did look lovely and had a horse and carriage. All documented in my album.

aggie Sat 13-Apr-19 18:02:41

It is your album , I would keep it somewhere she won't see it till she is older , I wouldn't have taken him out of the pictures , is he your granddaughters Father ? she will be more confused at him not being there in the pictures

ninathenana Sat 13-Apr-19 18:07:33

I would keep it.
I would put it away where DGD can't find it, until such time when and if mummy tells her about the past. I think DD would be upset if DGD found out through you but in 10 or so years time DGD may like to see it.

Savannasnan Sat 13-Apr-19 18:08:10

Hi Aggie thanks for your reply. No he isn't her father. My daughter's new partner is her Dad. There is no connection.

ninathenana Sat 13-Apr-19 18:08:50

aggie OP says her new partner is DGD father.

ninathenana Sat 13-Apr-19 18:09:21

Sorry cross posts

aggie Sat 13-Apr-19 18:13:16

oh ! just as well to delete him then !
Girls love to look at photos of "The olden days" so she will love it in the future , and maybe when your DD is not as raw she might like to see herself

callgirl1 Sat 13-Apr-19 18:22:35