Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Is living abroad all it is cracked up to be ?

(104 Posts)
NanKate Sun 11-Aug-19 14:54:15

My sister went to live in Italy in her late 20s she loved it at first but now would do anything to come back but can’t afford it.

Friends moved to southern Spain about 11 years ago and seem very happy but what happens when one of them dies I wonder ? They visit their family in the U.K. regularly. Does being with an ex-pat community lose it’s attraction when on your own?

I would never consider living abroad as I am a real home bird.

lemongrove Sun 11-Aug-19 15:26:53

I have no first hand knowledge NanK but know two people who did come back, when their DH’s died and one person who returned (after ten years) when his wife left him.They were all in lovely places in Spain.

lemongrove Sun 11-Aug-19 15:28:26

I wouldn’t consider leaving now, but we did seriously consider NZ about 27 years ago.

paddyann Sun 11-Aug-19 15:35:18

I think it depends how long they.ve been there and if they've settled and made friends.I have friends who went to Spain 30 years ago and although the wife died after 10 or so years the rest of the family decided to stay.Both children and dad have all married Spaniards and love living there

Bellasnana Sun 11-Aug-19 15:36:17

I’ve lived in Malta longer than I lived in the UK having moved here nearly 40yrs ago when I married my Maltese DH.

He passed away four years ago but nothing would make me want to return to the UK.

It is always good to visit, but Malta is home and I feel the England I left behind does not exist any longer.

RosieLeah Sun 11-Aug-19 15:38:57

One of my sons lives in Holland. When he left university, he had no choice as he couldn't get work in England. He has bought a house and is well-settled there. However, he has stopped short of giving up his British passport. His wife is Dutch and loves England. She would much prefer for them to move here.