Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Nervous driver

(109 Posts)
morethan2 Wed 07-Dec-16 20:04:11

I had to drive somewhere I haven't been to for a few years. I wasn't sure of the route and I knew it would be dark coming back. I was really nervous and anxious. I still went but these feelings of becoming anxious before driving are getting worse over the last year. I wondered if others had these feelings. I'm determined not to let it stop me as a matter of fact I think it's important that I face up these anxieties and perhaps set myself some driving goals but it's scary. Anyone feel the same and how do you cope

sara4 Wed 07-Dec-16 20:33:34

I hadn't driven for nearly a year due to ill health. I found a very good lady driving instructor and have had about 5 lessons. Still don't enjoy driving my confidence is still low. I've been driving for 55 years to work and longer distances, I feel I should keep it up in case my DH can't do it and we live in the country.

tanith Wed 07-Dec-16 20:36:18

morethan2 get yourself a sat nav and use it so that you don't add worrying about the route to your anxiety. Facing up to your fears and making some goals will help I'm sure. I found that I was tending to let OH always drive when we went out together it was nice to sit and be chauffeured around but I had to stop it as I could feel myself not wanting to drive. I hope you overcome your fears and keep your independance.

Greyduster Wed 07-Dec-16 20:41:52

I'm sorry to say I'm exactly the same. I duck out of driving whenever I can. I know when I have no choice I can and will do it, and my problem is not really driving in itself; it is our car. I simply don't like it. At the end of the day, though, I am very glad that it is a skill that I can fall back on, even if I do have to have a man with a red flag walking in front of me! Your determination does you credit, morethan!

Jane10 Wed 07-Dec-16 20:45:01