Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Feeling a Bit Lost and alone in the world

(45 Posts)
Msida Tue 09-Feb-21 21:09:50

Hello everyone I'm back I came on here when I lost my husband in August and I was so grateful for your help and support

The reason I am back is because I feel alone in the world, I don't see anyone I have 2 children and 5 grandchildren but don't see them (nothing to do with Covid they are in my 'bubble')

They live quite close but neither bother to come visit me. When I asked my youngest son to bring the grandchildren to see me, he replied that if I wanted to see the grandchildren I would have to go and see them he wasn't bringing them ?

I work from home and now that my husband has gone I live on my own its so very horrible and strange

I do feel totally alone in the world and don't know how to deal with that

Would so appreciate any thoughts or shared experiences

Thank you x

Mogsmaw Tue 09-Feb-21 21:38:05

Sending you love, I have no shared experience to offer, just to let you know your not alone.

Ailsa43 Tue 09-Feb-21 21:38:43

Welcome back, so sorry you're in such a rotten situation and unable to see your children or grandchildren, but please don't be lonely when you can chat with anyone here 24/7 most days

SueDonim Tue 09-Feb-21 21:41:58

I’m so sorry you’ve lost your husband, that’s very sad. flowers

Did your son bring the children over to see you prior to your husband’s death? Is this request that you go to them something new? Is there any reason you can’t go to your son’s to visit?

It’s very difficult to get out and meet people while we are all locked down like this. Maybe time spent investigating ways to meet new folk once this is all over would be worthwhile?

NellG Tue 09-Feb-21 21:46:25

Adult children can be so insensitive sometimes, we all know that have busy lives but it would be nice to get a thought and a visit sometimes. Is there any way you could arrange to go and visit them?