Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Grandparents with grandchildren in jail…

(34 Posts)
Nolittleredluggage Thu 16-Nov-23 12:26:21

my grandson is in another state. He was arrested for second-degree murder. I’m trying to get an attorney for him and it’s expensive. My son feels I am wrong to do this. But I can’t sit by and let him be represented by a public defender. I’m so conflicted has anybody been in the similar or same circumstance?

It’s painful. He was my first grandchild. And today is his 23rd birthday.

Nolittleredluggage Thu 16-Nov-23 12:45:24

My son also said if I help my grandson he will never see me again.. my heart is so broken.

Blossoming Thu 16-Nov-23 12:53:53

What an awful situation you are in. I’ve no experience of this, and I think you’re in the US so not sure how things work over there. Sorry I can’t help! You have my sympathy flowers

Allsorts Thu 16-Nov-23 12:57:58

Can’t give you any advice as I have no experience, but do feel for you. Don’t cause a rift with you son though, he must be heartbroken too and need you. . I don’t know the back up to this as there are so many different factors that come into play. Has your grandson been a good decent person up until now. Someone is dead now who would still be alive. There is a saying saying, hate the sin but love the sinner, don’t let that blind you to the the truth.

hamster58 Thu 16-Nov-23 12:58:17

You don't say if you feel your grandson is guilty or innocent, I presume the latter as you want him defended in the best possible way. I also assume from your son's comment that he thinks he IS guilty, as surely otherwise he would feel as you do. If your grandson is guilty, do you still feel he should have the best chance to be found innocent? I'm sorry, if this sounds judgemental, but I can see where your son is coming from if he feels his own son may be guilty. Do correct me if I've misunderstood, and I'm sorry you find yourself in this sad situation anyway

sweetcakes Thu 16-Nov-23 13:02:07