Gransnet forums

Books/book club

Finally getting round to read....

(14 Posts)
Greatnan Sat 10-Nov-12 17:24:45

Catcher in the Rye. How did I manage to study Eng. Lit without reading this marvellous book? Now I am looking on Amazon for all the other classics I have managed not to read. At the moment I am reading 'I know why the caged bird sings' but it makes me burn with anger against segregation. I wish I could think it was all in the past, but I know a good bit of the opposition to Obama was because of his colour. It doesn't make any sense to me.

MiceElf Sat 10-Nov-12 17:37:38

My former history teacher gave me a reading list before I went to university. She was a highly intelligent formidable woman and said I should try to complete it before I graduated.

Well, I finally read the last two books on the list this year. Zola's Germinal which is one of the most wonderful books I've ever read, and the Confessions of Saint Augustine! A bit different, but the humanity shines through both.

Greatnan Sat 10-Nov-12 17:41:10

I found Germinal the most depressing book I have ever read!
I am trying to get away from my staple diet of the 18th and 19th century English classics - but I still have never found a writer I enjoy as much as Jane Austen!

MiceElf Sat 10-Nov-12 17:44:48

Well yes, but what a polemic.

I'm with you on Austen.

crimson Sat 10-Nov-12 17:45:59

I read Germinal in my teens; in fact I read all of the Rougon Maquart series [something to do with coming from a dysfunctional family I guess]. Nana was serialised on the telly when I was about 17 and that's what got me interested. I wondered the other day about re visiting some of my favourite books. Didn't Zola say to one of his friends [was it Van Gogh?] that he could do more to help people by writing powerful books and, at the end of the day make money for himself than going out preaching to people for peanuts?

MiceElf Sat 10-Nov-12 17:46:59

But for history it has to be Herodotus.