Gransnet forums

Care & carers

Exhausted caring for granddaughter

(65 Posts)
Honey1958 Mon 12-Nov-18 21:52:28

Hello newbie here and would welcome some advice. My daughter returned to work a couple of months ago and I agreed to look after my 11 month old granddaughter. However I am sadly finding I cannot cope very well. I do have some health conditions fibromyalgia and back pain but always thought I was fit for a 60 year old! I love her to bits but feel so terribly tired after a few hours and don't feel i can give her the best care. And increasingly not sure I want to do it anymore. My daughter and her partner would struggle to pay for childcare also they work shifts as in public sector. I need to have a discussion with them about the future but not sure where to start. Any advice or views? Thanks for reading x

Lyndylou Mon 12-Nov-18 22:26:13

Can you compromise by having her for the morning and then taking her to a nursery for the afternoon? I understand completely where you are coming from, my DS and his GF are trying for a family and they both have demanding jobs. I have already made it clear I would be happy to help out but I have a limit of 3 hours a day for a toddler as I know more would be too much. I'm sorry to say, if she is 11 months, it is only going to get worse as she gets a little older. I wish you good luck, but you need to talk to your son as soon as possible.

Lyndylou Mon 12-Nov-18 22:26:58

Sorry talk to your daughter not son!

Luckygirl Mon 12-Nov-18 22:32:13

I do think that you need to be straight with your DD. When one of my DDs wanted me to be involved in care for my GC so she could return to work we had an honest and open conversation about what might or might not be possible.