Gransnet forums

Charities

Advise needed re sponsoring a child

(38 Posts)
NfkDumpling Tue 25-Feb-14 14:24:15

I've been supporting Guide Dogs for the Blind for many years and must have given a complete dog by now, so, having just been to India and seen some of the problems there, I'd really like to to sponsor a child with help for education instead. Googled sponsoring and am thoroughly confused. There are so many different organisations. Anyone out there sponsoring who can give advice?

NfkDumpling Tue 25-Feb-14 14:25:08

(Suspect I've put this under the wrong heading. It's not a notice)

nightowl Tue 25-Feb-14 14:35:08

I sponsor a child through Plan International. I find it a very good organisation. I receive regular updates about the child, his family and local area and I am able to send cards, letters and small gifts. You can also register for gift aid if you are a taxpayer and leave a legacy in your will. It's lovely to feel you can make a difference to a specific child's life.

vegasmags Tue 25-Feb-14 14:36:12

I have sponsored a girl in Tanzania for 6 years now, with World Vision. I am sure there are many similar organisations, but I have been very happy with World Vision. What attracted me to them initially was the way they help and assist a particular village or geographical area, one part of which is sponsoring the education of the children. They also guarantee that if your circumstances change, they will honour the sponsorship you have begun. I have regular contact with Bernadetta Paul, in the form of letters and cards. She is 13 now and wants to be a teacher. World Vision are very good on the admin front, so it has all been very straightforward.

NfkDumpling Tue 25-Feb-14 14:43:08

Thanks, I'll look at those - the concern was whether the money gets to the child. I like the idea that World Vision continue to sponsor if circumstances change, that was one of my concerns.

baubles Tue 25-Feb-14 14:46:33