Gransnet forums

Chat

A simple act of kindness -and paying it forward.

(41 Posts)
Imperfect27 Tue 12-Sep-17 07:10:35

Decades ago I worked as a bank cashier. I enjoyed the customer facing aspect of the ole and was aware that some customers would choose to come to my till for a bit of chatter. One such was an elderly gentleman who I later learned was a French Consulate. When I married, he surprised me by bringing in a gift, handed over in an old crinkled brown paper bag. It contained a delicate bone china rose vase. I was so touched by the kindness from someone relatively unknown to me.

Since then, for some weddings, I have enjoyed giving an unexpected gift, usually a small silver photo frame or something of that ilk for the home. And I always think of that first act of unexpected kindness and the pleasure it brought to me.

Has a simple act of kindness inspired you to do something?

TriciaF Tue 12-Sep-17 11:26:11

The only recent things I can think of are to do with driving.
A few times something has gone wrong when I was out driving and a rough looking French peasant type stopped to help. I gave them a big hug and a kiss (on a hairy cheek grin)
Th french are very helpful and kind if you've got a real problem.A

TriciaF Tue 12-Sep-17 11:27:51

ps - I haven't 'paid it forward' yet but will keep it in mind.

silverlining48 Tue 12-Sep-17 11:43:35

Am wracking my brain imperfect, since i am sure there have been numerous acts of kindness over the years, both given and received. My mind is blank. I am concerned!
I clearly need to de- stress.