Gransnet forums

Chat

I wish I enjoyed cooking!

(85 Posts)
Esther1 Tue 05-Nov-19 10:52:24

I wish I liked cooking - but I hate it, I hate even simple food preparation like making a sandwich or a salad. Don’t get me wrong - I love eating. I would love to be like the Gransnetters who plan and prepare lovely food - I would love to make a hobby of it, it would productively fill a few hours - but I just can’t get interested. Any suggestions to inspire me? It’s not even that I am a bad cook - being a sixties child I learnt all the basics well. Any ideas?

Gonegirl Tue 05-Nov-19 10:56:48

I could have written that post. I do the best Sunday roast in the family, but that's it for me. Just c.b.a.

Sorry. Not helpful.

Framilode Tue 05-Nov-19 11:51:53

I'm afraid I'm the same Gonegirl.

MissAdventure Tue 05-Nov-19 11:53:38

I can't stand cooking either.
When I was younger I would always cook basic things and be happy they were mostly edible, but nowadays its all so much effort!

Auntieflo Tue 05-Nov-19 11:59:44

Do you think that it's because we have done it for so many years?
We have been married now for 58 years, and I do get so fed up with thinking
"what are we going to eat tonight?"

So, no, I dont hate cooking, just wish I didn't have to do it.

Lumarei Tue 05-Nov-19 12:05:11

Same here ?

kittylester Tue 05-Nov-19 12:10:30

I love cooking but I cant think of a way to persuade reluctant cooks.

My children love it too so maybe caught it from me. My mum didnt like cooking much but did most of it whereas my dad loved it but rarely did it. My Granny (Dad's mum)was a French taught pastry chef who also loved cooking so maybe it's in the gene's.

Gonegirl Tue 05-Nov-19 12:12:53

In my case it started when food went "fancy". Back in the eighties? I was ok with a lamb chop or a bit of mince in gravy, mashed spuds and cabbage but it's all so complicated these days. And you're not allowed meat every day now. hmm

It's all combined to put me off.

Gonegirl Tue 05-Nov-19 12:15:41