Gransnet forums

Chat

If I'd known then what I know now ...

(74 Posts)
b1zzle Thu 27-Feb-20 12:53:03

… I'd have taken more care of my teeth, never have started smoking, never sat in the sun...

Luckygirl Thu 27-Feb-20 12:57:12

Ah - the retrospectoscope!

SalsaQueen Thu 27-Feb-20 12:58:13

I stopped smoking 33 years ago, never sunbathed, but wish my teeth were more attractive.

I would have:

Spent more time with my Mum and Dad
Saved some money when I could afford to
Learned a skill of some kind

threexnanny Thu 27-Feb-20 14:41:31

Since starting the family tree I wish I'd thought of all the questions I now want the answers to before the previous generation died.

Greymar Thu 27-Feb-20 14:42:44

Realised I wasn't responsibly for my mother earlier.

rosenoir Thu 27-Feb-20 14:44:04

Same here b1zzle,and I would have had a private pension.

Curlywhirly Thu 27-Feb-20 14:58:34

threexnanny me too! I have been tracing my family tree for about 5 years now, but it would have been much easier if I had asked my grandparents and my Mum some questions whilst they were still alive. My paternal grandmother was born in 1902 in the town I was born in (and I still live); according to my research, she was born in one of the poorest slum areas right in the town centre - lots of Irish immigrants came to our town during the potato famine, as there were lots of industries and plenty of jobs. But their living conditions were dreadful, and my Nannie (though not Irish) lived amongst them. It's a wonder anyone survived in such insanitary conditions, but she was a really tough woman, who scared me to death! Would certainly loved to have heard how she managed and what our town was like.

tinaf1 Thu 27-Feb-20 15:46:33

I too have done a family tree and wished I could have asked more questions from relatives, but I also found that my parents & grandparents generations weren’t very forthcoming with a information, especially if it was something they didn’t want you to know.