Gransnet forums

Chat

Good Morning Monday

(62 Posts)
12Michael Mon 14-Dec-20 06:17:11

Good Morning Everyone,
its dark ,and looks like its been wet in the night here in Brackley.
Today , housework , pick up my prescriptions from chemist and watch TV .
Yesterday morning I watched Saturday Kitchen rerun on Sundays, anyway there was something they did on the programme which caught my eye.
Battered Brussel sprouts deep fried , I have done them years ago just deep frying them , but not battered its a pity it has not caught on with Fish & Chip shops.
Take Care,
Mick

Urmstongran Mon 14-Dec-20 19:26:26

None taken Doodle
?

Polly99 Mon 14-Dec-20 17:25:01

Sorry to intrude on this lovely thread but I just wanted to thank Doodle for her observations regarding doctor's receptionists. I worked as a "Dragon" for fifteen years because I loved helping people and enjoyed a good and friendly relationship with the regular patients and others. This all gradually changed as the protocol was altered to try to limit the number of patient appointments available. We had new training and a supervisor listened in to make sure that we followed the script. I felt desperately sorry for people who I felt really needed to be seen but had to keep telling them to "ring back tomorrow" etc. Also took a lot of abuse from patients. Of course the doctors were lovely to the patients who blamed reception staff. Eventually I took early retirement as it was all so stressful. I don't deny that there are some rude and unpleasant "gatekeepers" around. Possibly the doctors prefer to employ those who will strictly enforce the rules rather than those who are more compassionate but it is not an easy job these days.

Gwenisgreat1 Mon 14-Dec-20 16:18:17

Well, a late good afternoon, folks!! Been a busy day.