Gransnet forums

Chat

Does anyone over 50 here still suffer from being broody?

(90 Posts)
overwhichhill Wed 24-Apr-19 19:49:54

I can't get my head around the fact that I still want another baby.... I am over 50 and in peri-menopause for about 10 years now, but I just wish this longing for another baby would go away. I am not sure whether stopping my periods altogether will help, I am on HRT and they are irratic even with this. So asking the wisdom of Gransnet to help me how do I get my head right!

Lily65 Wed 24-Apr-19 19:50:59

nice user name.

overwhichhill Wed 24-Apr-19 20:03:20

Thank you Lily65 - It is my first time venturing over here, I have been on mumsnet for years, and wanted a new name!

phoenix Wed 24-Apr-19 20:06:42

Oh definitely, every time I see a litter of kittens or puppies, I get very tempted!

Babies? Human babies? NO!

overwhichhill Wed 24-Apr-19 20:16:57

So there is no hope for me phoenix, I still want the human version. Tried a puppy dog version recently, but was allergic to it, so failed!

Eglantine21 Wed 24-Apr-19 20:22:12

Oh yes and my menopause was more than twenty years ago!

I’d love to be pregnant again and give birth.

And then opt out😬

(Actually my boobs still tingle when I’m near a crying baby)

BradfordLass72 Wed 24-Apr-19 20:43:55

Just recently we had a thread about 'reborn' babies; and how some women buy them and treat them as real children.
They look and feel and, to a certain extent act, like real children.

I could quite understand it as I would have dearly loved more than my 2 boys but circumstances prevented.

I worked in child care for many years and until fairly recently volunteered in a kindergarten. So I understand completely your broodiness.

Look on YouTube for 'reborns' if you've never heard of them. They definitely fill a need for many hundreds of people all over the world.

Framilode Wed 24-Apr-19 20:52:22