Gransnet forums

Chat

To Tell Or Not To Tell

(71 Posts)
Pennylane4711 Sat 28-Nov-20 16:10:53

I work in the beauty industry. I should be retired but will not be able too for 4 years. Recently I have lost my confidence a little and have decided it’s time to have a little surgery abroad (face lift) I’ve done my research and am totally happy with my choice but I have a question that I would love to hear your thoughts, around who to tell and how much to tell. I have always been a very private person, I don’t want to lie to anyone but also I don’t want to discuss the ins and outs either. I’ve told my children and partner but I don’t know what to expect from friends and work colleagues. I will be out of action for two weeks which may go unnoticed depending on the lockdown situation. Your thoughts would be appreciated. Please no negativity about my decision.

aggie Sat 28-Nov-20 16:15:06

Think it might be better to defer your surgery till this Pandemic is over ?

Callistemon Sat 28-Nov-20 16:16:27

I wouldn't tell anyone.
Just accept the compliments, there's no need to explain.
But you won't be able to go for months, so I hope you can regain your lost confidence in the meantime.

Doodledog Sat 28-Nov-20 16:24:18

I don't see any reason why you should tell people about your surgery when you have it - it's nobody's business but yours.

There may be some who will ask about it if they notice, so have something rehearsed to tell them if you decide not to 'come clean'. Personally, I don't think that people should ask personal questions (I find it very rude), but that doesn't stop them, so I would expect it to happen. Maybe just smile and thank them for the compliment?

Bluebellwould Sat 28-Nov-20 16:25:18