Gransnet forums

Chat

Any names you don’t like ( either through association or just because)

(112 Posts)
nanna8 Wed 20-Jan-21 12:04:10

Not keen on Cecil for a male and not keen on Deirdre for a girl though I do know a Deirdre who is actually a really nice person. Don’t like some of the made up modern ones, either.

Lucca Wed 20-Jan-21 12:16:59

Malcom and martin. Not nice boys at school !

Grandmabatty Wed 20-Jan-21 12:17:23

Unfortunately I was a teacher and there are many names with connotations. We had to think very carefully when naming our children.

Sara1954 Wed 20-Jan-21 12:21:00

For some reason, I’ve always disliked Rebecca and Abigail, no idea why

JMcD Wed 20-Jan-21 12:24:18

I always imagined I would one day have a daughter called Dawn - but having married a Scotsman who's pronounciation sounded more like "Don" that idea was shelved!

nanna8 Wed 20-Jan-21 12:32:44

We had 4 girls but the cat was a boy so we called him Declan which was my favourite name at the time. He lived to be 22 years old, lovely old pussy cat.

Espana Wed 20-Jan-21 12:34:47

Wouldn’t dream of adding to this list. I understand it is meant to be a bit of fun but the possibility of hurting feelings is too great just to entertain ourselves. Sorry if this seems a bit po faced.

BlueSky Wed 20-Jan-21 12:37:37

The new modern names made up or with really weird spelling. Won’t mention any not to offend.

vampirequeen Wed 20-Jan-21 12:45:04

To many names due to being a teacher but let's just say that DDs found choosing names for DGC was a minefield.

Elvis58 Wed 20-Jan-21 12:51:26

Richard, Robert both names associated with multiple nasty, feckless, lazy,self centred people.

Ro60 Wed 20-Jan-21 12:58:19

When I was in high school for some odd reason my friend & I thought the name Amelia was soo old fashioned & hilarious - would have us in fits of laughter.
Now it's a popular name I can't imagine what caused the amusement.

lovebeigecardigans1955 Wed 20-Jan-21 13:11:50