Gransnet forums

Chat

I want to be a gran

(41 Posts)
Fleetwood123 Thu 04-Mar-21 23:38:56

I would just like to say how fortunate you all are for being grandparents. I am a teacher and have worked with children all of my life. I was an NNEB before being a teacher. Due to being brought up in a very dysfunctional family l didn’t settle into a steady relationship until late in life. L have one son who is not interested in having children. I would love to be a grand parent - just to be involved in caring for a young life again ( l had always hoped to have lots of children) when that didn’t happen l hoped for grandchildren but that hasn’t happened yet and l do realise you cannot live your life through your child so must just accept it. You are all so fortunate to be grandparents Enjoy every minute even when it is hard!

Blossoming Fri 05-Mar-21 00:26:30

I’m never going to be a grandparent either, my health issues put paid to that. However, Mr, B and I have a lot of nieces and nephews, many of whom now have children, so I am an aunty and a grand aunty many times over. I love them all so much. I realise it’s not possible at the moment, but is there some local organisation or voluntary work with young children that you might become involved with? Help with home schooling maybe?

CanadianGran Fri 05-Mar-21 06:31:36

I do feel for you; I enjoy being a grandmother. I never had one of my own, 3 of my grandparents died before I was born, and a grandfather died before I could meet him.