Gransnet forums

Coronavirus

Allowing tradesmen in for non-urgent work

(29 Posts)
HooteNanny Mon 19-Oct-20 12:50:35

Good afternoon all,
I am a newbie at posting so please forgive any errors smile.
I need some advice from calm, level headed ladies as I am feeling very anxious at the moment, and I think this is totally clouding my mind as to decisions I must make. Apologies for the boring story in advance.
Firstly I am 69, overweight, (which I am dealing with), have high blood pressure (take medication) and have to carry an epipen everywhere due to severe allergies to several substances so have to be, and have been very careful about abiding by guidelines and also being self protective (with intermittent support from both my sons who live nearby).
Long story short - three years ago a subsidence claim was started regarding small cracks in a couple of walls in my home, so a series of monitoring visits ensued resulting in a couple of trees being removed.
Then Covid/lockdown happened, and I refused to allow anyone in my home (on Government and doctors orders). The surveying company were not impressed and were quite aggressive in wanting to come indoors to monitor which I consistently refused as the small cracks could not be classified as ‘urgent’ work.
Fast forward to lockdown easing and numbers reducing; I allowed the monitoring to begin again with the proviso that all relevant protective gear was worn and only one person entered my home (my children and grandchildren had only just been allowed to enter at this point). They very begrudgingly agreed.
Then when it was decided repair work could commence, they wanted two building firms to come and estimate the cost of repair - again I insisted on one person, PPE etc, which they were not happy with but complied.
I found all of this very stressful, and so my son phoned the surveying company three weeks ago, and told them that any further communication should be with him and he would then discuss matters with me.