Gransnet forums

Education

Languages

(69 Posts)
bluegran Thu 05-May-11 21:06:37

Is anyone learning a new language. I love Italian but would like to speak it fluently.

GrannyTunnocks Fri 06-May-11 09:06:39

My daughter moved to Germany so I went to classes to learn German. I am far from fluent but can understand a lot and I can get by in cafes, shops etc. She has now moved to the French speaking part of Switzerland so I am back to square 1 although I remember some words from school.

BecauseImWorthIt Fri 06-May-11 09:08:38

I am learning Mandarin, hoping to take a GCSE in the next year or so.

fedar Sun 08-May-11 19:29:13

Hi!
I'm a 55 Italian physics teacher. Nowadays I'm studying English because this summer I'm taking my daughter to London for an English course. If you want, we could contact us via skype and talking each other some minutes in Italian and some minutes in English...
This is a good idea, isn't it?
fedar (from Italy)

here Sun 08-May-11 21:29:09

hi, i'm a new member from italy

actually i'm not learning any new language but i'm trying not to forget the ones i knew: english, a bit of german and french without forgetting spanish.

what i'm learning is a new technique to express better my professional skills: nobody here where i live seems to care but i'm going on harder

Joan Sun 08-May-11 23:34:12

It is a fantastic thing to learn a new language - does wonders for your brain power! The secret is not be be embarrassed just dive in and learn from your mistakes. The most important aspect is to get the sound right, because if you manage that, you can get away with a lot.

Listen to the italian news on the telly if you can get it - listen to the 'music' of the language and try to reproduce it.

I also find that learning songs and poems is a great help - they stick in your brain easier.

nanafrancis Thu 12-May-11 11:36:02

I'm also new on here!