Gransnet forums

Education

For those who say that children don't learn grammar any more.....

(103 Posts)
Mamie Mon 25-Jan-16 06:41:01

Here is a short sample from the spelling and grammar test that eleven-year-olds will take this year.
www.sats2016.co.uk/think-youd-pass-your-sats-in-2016/
How did you do?

Anya Mon 25-Jan-16 07:32:09

Don't learn grammar any more? Surely no one thinks that.

Imperfect27 Mon 25-Jan-16 07:33:19

As a primary school teacher, I give a 20 minute grammar lesson everyday. This is separate / in addition to reading and writing.
The end of year Grammar, spelling and Punctuation Sats test (see link above) has been in place for a couple of years now. The government hasn't quite worked out the benchmark (nationally agreed score) for measuring success for this test, but it is to be given equal status with Maths, Writing and Reading.

The grammar gap was apparent in my own generation. I was educated in the late 60s-70s, but never taught grammar at primary school! I then attended a grammar school where it was assumed that it had been taught already!

The children I now teach know a lot more than I did at their age.

Mamie Mon 25-Jan-16 07:52:28

I know they do! Like you Anya I did all the NLS development and implementation. I gather that the SPAG test has changed again this year.
However, it is very common to read posts on here and elsewhere from people who think that primary schools don't teach grammar, so I thought this would be of interest....
grin

Badenkate Mon 25-Jan-16 08:26:36

Well, I got 9 out of 10 on the quiz, but that was because I taught English while we were living in Switzerland and learnt grammar on the job. It certainly was a help learning German, and actually, as a scientist, I found it interesting looking at it as a logical problem.

joannapiano Mon 25-Jan-16 08:31:29

I was a primary teacher for 20 years, and I couldn't help our 9 year old DGS with his homework last week- underline the adverbial (??) in these sentences.