Gransnet forums

Education

Gove's favourites

(33 Posts)
Penstemmon Tue 18-Oct-16 22:21:05

www.tes.com/news/school-news/breaking-news/charting-downfall-famous-five-superheads

I am not saying local authorities were without fault but really this prodigal behaviour with public money did not happen! I am sure there are some perfectly decent Academy Trusts spending money appropriately. However it makes my blood boil when i see this money from the Education Pot being squandered. Like others on here I am a community school governor and we really struggle to make ends meet when setting the budget and that is without any thing fancy and hardly any maintenance possible after we have paid salaries and utility bills!

gillybob Wed 19-Oct-16 08:12:59

I am just beginning to try and work out how this "academy" status works penstemmon . Two of the very best secondary schools in our area are academies and are without question way ahead of the other schools. Both have outstanding Ofsted reports. Is that because they have more money available to them? Is it because being so successful they can then cream off the best intake of children? Leaving the rest (the ones they don't want) for the other schools. I know they operate a slightly different admissions policy. I would be grateful for any information that might help me understand.

Mamie Wed 19-Oct-16 08:40:54

They vary Gillybob, but yes they have had access to larger pots of money. My eldest GD is at an excellent academy, run by a small trust with strong historic links to education. They have a fabulous new building, excellent teachers and two consecutive outstanding grades from Ofsted.
The catchment area is mixed, but contains some challenging areas. The school has been so successful that I understand the catchment area is down to half a mile (not based on feeder schools).
Other academy trusts have had a much more chequered history and some schools have not performed well at all.
Overall they perform no better than LA schools.