Gransnet forums

Education

Teachers' pay rises

(36 Posts)
Luckygirl Tue 23-Jul-19 08:46:09

As a school governor I get so cross when the government take credit for a pay rise when in fact schools have to find the bulk of this from their existing stretched budgets. There is to be a 2.75% "uplift" in pay scales in September - the teachers need and deserve this, that is not under debate. But the government is only going to fund 0.75% of this - schools have to find the other 2%. Schools have already set their budgets and made their plans on the basis of these.

It sickens me that the government seeks to look good and generous when in fact it is the children who will be paying for it in reduced resources. Grrr!

SisterAct Tue 23-Jul-19 08:52:02

Totally agree and not just the children who pay. I have been a teacher at my school 18 years, full and now part-time. and I’m being made redundant last day tomorrow ?

Luckygirl Tue 23-Jul-19 08:58:56

Oh SisterAct - I do hope you will find some compensations in your new life; I wish you well for a difficult day tomorrow.

SisterAct Tue 23-Jul-19 09:18:09

Thank you I understand why the budget cuts have made difficult decisions to be taken, but, I wouldn’t have chosen to go.

We are in an area where the PTA and parents have raised a lot of money so the children won’t loose out on resources but TA hours have been reduced.

Sadly I can’t see an end to it at the moment and many schools are in or heading to a deficit budget through no fault of their own.

suziewoozie Tue 23-Jul-19 09:45:30