Gransnet forums

Estrangement

How many of you who are cut off actually want to be reconciled?

(116 Posts)
Purpletinofpaint Fri 05-Jul-19 08:43:21

I'm aware from reading other threads that sometimes the estrangement has gone on too long & that some left-behind mothers have now adapted & don't want their estranged child to make contact, for the upheaval it would cause. I just thought I 'd put this question out there and ask. If you've been cut off for a long time, do you still want to be reconciled with your adult child? Also I'd be interested to learn how long you've been estranged for? I'm estranged over 10yrs.

CassieJ Fri 05-Jul-19 09:19:55

I am relatively new to estrangement, roughly two years, though we did have a short contact which failed last year as my son was still very much trying to control me.

I don't know how to resolve this, I would hate to think that I will never have contact with my eldest son and grandchildren again. I miss them hugely. I would love to be reconciled, but I can't see it happening anytime soon.

Smileless2012 Fri 05-Jul-19 09:32:52

We've been estranged for 6.5 years Purpletinofpaint and for me no, I would not want our ES to make contact.

Not "for the upheaval it would cause" but for me, the risk to our mental and physical well being would be too great. Trust has been destroyed and our ES, having done something we'd never have thought possible simply isn't the young man we once thought him to be.

Trying to rebuild our relationship with the inevitable fear that we could be cut out again, is something I would be unable and unwilling to do.

It's taken more than 4 years for us to get where we are, to find peace and happiness in our lives. It took every ounce of our strength to get through it and I don't believe either of us would have the strength to do so again.

Having been treated so badly by him, I'd ask myself why, after having told us we were no longer a part of his and his children's lives, he'd want to make contact.