Gransnet forums

Estrangement

Unbearable sadness- blocked with no reason from 4 GK

(83 Posts)
Anna4 Sun 03-Nov-19 19:35:33

Hello, This is my first post in this forum. I'm an active and professional person with a career, divorced - but I am also a grandmother of 4 children from two daughters. I have not seen my grand kids for 10 months - since xmas time last year, nor have I heard from my daughters. One daughter, with 3 children, I had thought I had been close to, has cut me off with no expressed reason whatsoever. My other daughter who has one child, has had a 10 year psychiatric history of borderline personality disorder and a police record for assault on other school mates, has also blocked me from seeing my grandchild from her. I have written letters to both, apologizing for 'whatever I have done', sent flowers, cards but they don't respond in any way. I have reached out to their father to ask for his help in intervening - but he is not helpful. He almost gloats. He himself has a police record of assault, and doesn't care about the damage of estrangement I have w my daughters' blocking of seeing my grandkids. I am not an enmeshed -style mother, I respect my children, but they have sucker punched me with this unbelievable agony of not seeing them, their husbands or their kids. This is killing me. I am at a loss.

Sussexborn Sun 03-Nov-19 19:45:08

It must be incredibly hard when you don’t know why this has happened. Hopefully they will relent at some point. Probably when they need you for something.

Smileless2012 Mon 04-Nov-19 09:01:45

I'm so very sorry Anna; to be treated this way by one adult child is bad enough goodness knows, but to have this happen with both must be devastating.

Having sent cards and flowers, and given a blanket apology it might be worth staying quiet for a while and see if they make contact with you.

BlueBelle Mon 04-Nov-19 09:07:38