Gransnet forums

Food

Im new to Lidl and Aldi at Christmas .

(141 Posts)
gmelon Tue 06-Nov-18 21:29:56

I wonder if you will share your tastiest and favourite buys from Christmas at Lidl and Aldi.

I've never lived near one.
This year they've built a massive Aldi and I'm near a Lidl too.

I'm aware there was a bit of a thread going a while ago with some content but this one is completely dedicated to the lovely tasty subject.

Chewbacca Tue 06-Nov-18 21:41:19

Gammon joint, in a foil tray, ready to shove in the oven. Comes studded with juniper berries and the honey and orange glaze, in a pouch, that you pour over the joint 15 minutes before end of cooking time. Last year it was far £4.00. Buy 2. One will get eaten by everyone else before you've even left the kitchen.

Grannyknot Tue 06-Nov-18 21:57:26

Chewbacca that sounds good. is the gammon from Lidl or Aldi, please?

For several years now I've bought ready made parfait type single serving desserts in a disposable container from Lidl. The family love them and they look good when served, because they are various flavours and therefore colourful.

Chewbacca Tue 06-Nov-18 21:59:50

Aldi Grannyknot. Don't know why but I've never got on with Lidl. But Aldi is my 2nd home! grin

Grannyknot Tue 06-Nov-18 22:06:36

Thank you!

This thread did remind me of one year when people "raved" about Lidl's whole lobsters. I bought them and they were tasteless and awful, ended up in the bin.

MiniMoon Tue 06-Nov-18 22:07:34

We had a three bird roast from Aldi a couple of years ago. It was just a small one that we had on Christmas eve. It was very good though.
Our Aldi is closed a for three weeks for a refit and extension. I miss it, as we buy quite a bit from them.

MissAdventure Tue 06-Nov-18 22:33:08

Aldis have some lovely biscuits and crackers for cheese (or on their own)
Black pepper and rosemary flavour; all rich and crumbly.

Nandalot Tue 06-Nov-18 22:53:38