Gransnet forums

Food

Breadmaker Question

(30 Posts)
Sidelined Fri 17-Mar-23 20:03:21

Hi, I’m a newbie so nice to meet you.

I bought a bread maker recently and eventually found a great recipe that made the perfect loaf several times. However, the last three loaves - same ingredients, same settings - have been different: the loaf rose too much and hit the lid ruining the shape and although each loaf tasted fine thy were too light, difficult to slice because it was too floppy, even three days old!

I can’t work out what has changed. I began using up an old pack of yeast sachets (still in date) and had no problems. A new pack of the same yeast coincided with these odd loaves - could that be the problem? If so, what’s the solution?

Any ideas gratefully received. Thank you.

Elegran Fri 17-Mar-23 20:47:26

The usual thing that spoils bread baking is that old yeast doesn't make the bread rise properly. When people buy new yeast, their bread improves dramatically. You seem to have hit the opposite problem The old ones may have lost some of their power. Perhaps that suited your breadmaker or the recipe you were using. Try not using all of the new packet of yeast, that may fix it. Some trial and error is needed.

NotSpaghetti Fri 17-Mar-23 20:52:32

I was going to suggest the same, Elegran.
Of course if you change flour - even just the brand - you may also get a different result.

JaneJudge Fri 17-Mar-23 20:55:39

use less of the new yeast

SueDonim Fri 17-Mar-23 21:06:29

I suspect it’s a yeast issue, too. I don’t buy the sachets, I get the tins of yeast and keep it in the fridge. You can then measure exactly what you need.

Sidelined Fri 17-Mar-23 21:36:28

Thanks all. I assumed it was the yeast too but if the recipe says 7g (a sachet) how much less do I use?

MiniMoon Fri 17-Mar-23 22:35:21