Gransnet forums

Gardening

Hardly any apples on the tree this year.?

(14 Posts)
Witzend Thu 02-Jul-20 09:42:57

Not my tree, it’s in dd’s garden. Last year was not brilliant, but previously (they’ve been there 5 years) there was always masses of fruit - so many windfalls for me to turn into pies/crumbles/apple chutney etc.- what with working plus very little ones dd rarely had time to do much with them.

It’s evidently an old tree - the house is 1920s and I’d guess that it was there from the start. Quite a few of the houses have apple trees so maybe there was an orchard.

Dd is wondering why it’s so un-prolific this year. I’m sure I’ve read that the life - or at least the productive life - of apple trees
is limited - are there any apple tree experts on here?

Beechnut Thu 02-Jul-20 09:51:29

I’m no expert.
I have one apple this year so far. The year before last I had none and last year although there were plenty on the tree they had brown rot. We bought the tree 10years or so ago. My neighbours tree just had a few misshapen apples and he has cut the branches off.

craftyone Thu 02-Jul-20 09:53:41

several apple varieties are biennial for one reason or another. Personally I always thin my apples because apple production is a very heavy strain on a tree
some online help
www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?pid=280

loopyloo Thu 02-Jul-20 09:55:36

I think we had a very late frost. Several of my apple trees have no fruit and no damsons either.

GardenerGran Thu 02-Jul-20 10:46:07

I’ve got about 8 on mine this year, last year more than I could count. I think it’s developed a biennial habit despite my best efforts. Some of my other fruit bushes and trees have suffered from drought and/or late frost. You win some, you lose some. Hoping to get picking berries this afternoon if it stops raining!

lemongrove Thu 02-Jul-20 11:16:02

The Bramley is full of apples this year ( last year not so good) and our eating apple tree, Red Windsor is loaded with fruit.