Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

ADHD

(11 Posts)
raggygranny Thu 24-Nov-11 16:37:11

Has anyone any experience of grandparenting a child with ADHD? All advice and guidance will be very welcome!

FlicketyB Thu 24-Nov-11 21:38:27

raggygranny, ADHD can be very variable, how severe are his problems? My son and I have both have been identified as dyspraxic and are both almost definitely at the milder end of the ADD/ADHD spectrum so I have some experience there but some children have very severe symptoms and I have no experience of that.

raggygranny Fri 25-Nov-11 14:50:39

I would say fairly severe. Very poor concentration, which means he is falling behind at school. Violent outbursts of uncontrolled anger. Impulsive behaviour. Very little awareness of boundaries. It is having a serious impact on his family and especially on his siblings, who are on the receiving end of his behaviour and also find that most of his parents' attention has to be given to him. Having said all that, he is a very generous and loving boy!!!

Jacey Fri 25-Nov-11 17:54:45

Sorry raggygranny but these are all part of the disorder ...including you last statement.

Yes ...I've taught children with ADHA ...it's the H bit that makes it very hard. However ...that doesn't mean they are unable to recognise the affect they are having on siblings ...that's were the quiet word at appropriate moments can have a huge impact on their behaviour.

But things have to be prioritised ...everyone in the family needs to focus on one aspect only ...setting a boundary for the rest ...even if that means moving the rest of the family away from their influence! ( different room in the house) These are not unintelligent children ...they just have difficulty in recognising boundaries ...and they certainly know how to push the buttons of responsible adults.

You;ve not stated the age of the child or their siblings ...nor what support the family are getting.